“If you haven’t the strength to impose your own terms upon life, you must accept the terms it offers you” 9/01/14

2 09 2014

It was another hot and great week! It was super busy but Elder Randall and I really busted it and reached Standard! I didn’t think that we were going to get it at first because the week started out really slow in terms of lessons. We helped an old man move 3 storage units of junk on Tuesday. That took foooooorever! Then we helped someone move the next day as well. And we also had to take a trip up to Riverside to return one of the missionaries cars because he got his driving privileges revoked. After all of that and more, we were sitting on a Thursday with about 5 or 6 lessons. So we had a lot of work to do. We prayed for miracles and worked and worked and got standard though!

We had zone conference on Tuesday and that took the whole day. It was really good though. We discussed planning and all that fun stuff. I learned a lot of valuable lessons. All of the first time missionaries and departing missionaries bore their testimonies at the end. That was a very cool experience. I had a lot of people ask me when I was leaving which was really awkward because I am just arriving…One guy mentioned us hanging out at BYU then I told him that I still had another 2 years! He is chillin at about 20 months. I talked to the mission president and his wife for a little bit and they said some really nice things that I appreciated. The guys have been giving me a hard time about training after this transfer, then being AP at 6 months and I just ignore them. They like to tease. Haha they are all really awesome. Everyone is really nice and asks to go on exchanges with me so that’s been fun. I think I have the coolest guys in the mission around me. I’ve made such good friends here in the mission so quickly. We have a barney costume here and you can imagine that that is just going to bring a lot of fun experiences…There are so many things that you can do with a barney costume…. It was almost like I already knew them before I came. Elder Randall is obviously one of those guys. Although lately he keeps singing “I’ll be home for Christmas 😦 hahahah I actually think it’s really funny. Just let him have his fun.

Keoni and Val are still super solid! We cranked out 3 lessons with them this week about the Word of Wisdom, Tithing, and keeping the Sabbath day holy. Val was kind of concerned about tithing at first. I could just tell even though she didn’t want to admit it so I bore testimony to her and explained that God knows us and exactly what we need. Any blessings we receive from him are tenfold more valuable than any amount of money and those blessings are ones that will last through the eternities. Money will not matter after this life. That seemed to comfort her. They are set for this Saturday at 7:00! I’m excited!

Susan is still doing very well. We met with her and her aunt this week. Her aunt had taken the discussions when she was younger and didn’t really seem to take interest then. However, she participated in our lesson and looked pretty happy at the idea of coming to church. Unfortunately she didn’t show (Seeds were planted though and I think she will find the church one day. She is a great woman. Now we just need to get a hold of Susan’s mom. She was at church and really seems to be enjoying it. I think she will be baptized soon.

We picked up a new investigator this week! Her name is Vanessa. She is from a Tongan ward in Orange County. She moved to Hemet just about a week ago. I think she will be a fun one to deal with but there is a lot of work to do. She used to be associated with like… RLDS I think. Her parents were huge polygamists and she had a tough time moving past that but she looooooves the missionaries and wants to meet and be with us about every day. She seems responsive and I really look forward to teaching and meeting with her more.

Exciting 5th Sunday!!! We talked about a new program that was recently started in northern Cali. It’s called “Just Serve”. It’s a website that you can register for, member or not, and it’s going to be awesome. There will be projects all around our area that we can sign up for and go serve the community. It isn’t meant to be used for proselyting but if people you serve ask you, you can teach them about the church. We aren’t supposed to bring it up first. It’s more of a way to bridge the gap and show people that Mormons are real people too. It will help soooo much with the community and one of the cool parts is that President Mullen asked for it to be part of our mission because of the unproductive hours in the afternoon. We will have about 10 hours of service each week. I think that is awesome because that’s one of the concerns I expressed to you all before leaving to come out here. I wanted to be active and involved. It just shows how inspired the mission call is that we are one of the missions testing this program out. The Lord is really looking out for me.
Our mission is officially an IPad mission as of today. However it could be until next year that we actually get them. We really have no idea. We will be able to do online proselyting for an hour each day and we may get IPhones as well so that we have a Hotspot for internet and can sign up for the service activities. Apparently there have been missionaries who contact friends back home and Skype in to teach them. Then your family could be there also and it would count as a member present lesson! It’s so cool how missionary work is really evolving. So find people for me to teach family!!! Then I can see you guys;) hahaha

So one funny but really kind of sad thing that happened this week…We were out doing our contacts and some drunk 10 year olds approached us and were going on about how they don’t believe in God and how their dad taught them that. It’s so sad. The kids were 10 at the very oldest. And they were drunk. I can only pray that they are able to turn their lives around at some point. That same night I ran into some Hispanics and I got through a Hispanic contact and taught them a little bit of the first lesson! That was really cool and I’m glad I had a little background there. I got the information and will pass it along to the Spanish elders. Which by the way, they are hilarious. Funniest guys I have ever met. I love them so much.

Well that’s all for now! I hope everything is going well and I love you all so much!! Thank you for your prayers and all that you do for me. I’m seriously having the time of my life and I love every single day. I couldn’t have done it without all of you right behind me.

If you have never read the talk “Circle of Fire” By Sterling W Still do it…

“A high and holy ambition tightly held, can of itself produce a tremendous power in human life”

“When anyone is confronted with a problem, life usually allows him a choice between a number of alternatives. No one who cringes and runs away from his problem is ever permitted to marry the princess. It is also true that if we stop working every time we get sore hands or tired feet or aching hearts, we can never rule the kingdom. But it is a very interesting fact that if one keeps on using his hands, the skin will not all come off, but instead the soreness will eventually disappear and the hands will become firm and strong, and able to handle the most difficult tasks without discomfort.”

-Elder Fischer

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

