“Faith makes this possible, Not easy”

21 10 2014

This first week in Riverside has been great so far! Sooooo much has happened and I don’t even know where to start. My new Companion is Elder Mcconkie. He is related. Yes. I’m pretty sure his aunt spoke this past conference too. That’s pretty neat. He is a hippie so I love him – super funny – surfer – basketball player. He is from Maryland. East coast represent! Elder Page left on Thursday. That was sad but he needed to get his back fixed and he will return! We had the opportunity to hear from Elder Evans this past Wednesday. He is the head over all missionary work in the WORLD! What an opportunity to hear from him and partake of his spirit. My ward seems super amazing so far. They feed us really well and they need to stop doing that because I don’t want to be fat. And tons of other things happened along the way.

Well our main investigator that we’ve picked up is Crystal. Crystal is 14 and she just moved into the ward boundaries with her aunt who is a single mom and recent convert. Crystal is on date to be baptized for the 16th of November so keep her in your prayers. She seems to be super solid. She went to mutual and church on Sunday. She is such a teenage girl…she sends me winky faces and stuff in her texts. hahaha. It’s so awkward. But it gets even more awkward. As we were leaving the other day, her aunts daughter was like face to face looking into my eyes and said “Yep, your white and have blue eyes so you will be perfect for my mom”…haha I didn’t know how to respond so I just laughed it off. Then as we were biking away their aunt yelled that she was going to marry me.. It’s a little awkward to go over there now.. They are fun though. They have a little bird that poops on everything. He hasn’t got me yet. But he got Elder Page and Mcconkie already.

We are also working with some part member families that have promise. Hopefully those will work out.
Our other main focus right now is Joseph. He could go down anytime now. He has had all the lessons. Read the whole Book of Mormon. Super solid and humble. He comes to church without us asking. But he had an episode that scared the WML and Bishop a couple weeks ago. He is bipolar and apparently went crazy the other week. But we think he just didn’t take his meds. The only thing that I have a problem with is that if someone wants to be baptized, you can’t tell them no. He is keeping the commandments, reading from the book of Mormon, and attending church. He is accountable and saying no to baptism is taking away his agency… We are setting up another meeting with our WML to work with him. I think he will get dunked soon. We just need to be patient.

I’m pretty sure I will be here in Arlington Heights for a while. President mentioned me staying one more with Elder Mcconkie so I can get to know the area and then training here. That would put me here until March. I’m cool with that. It’s a good area. We are right next to California Baptist University. I love being near a campus and near young life again. It’s been a great week so far.
Now to Elder Evans! It was sooooo great! Pretty much he said no more OYMS. We changed it to talk with everyone because it is more preach my gospel and scriptural. We use to have to get 10 oyms each day. Now we are taking that away from our key indicators. At the end of the day we are accountable to a yes or no question of if we talked to everyone we pass or not. It’s intense but it works. We have talked to everyone we pass. It takes about an hour to get anywhere that is 5 mins away but it’s been really good! We have picked up a couple potential investigators – one from Rwanda Africa. She is super humble and brought 2 friends for us to teach too. We will see where that goes! Keep her in your prayers!
He talked a lot about safety and how we should be teaching. He had a question and answer session. He was super personal with everyone he talked to and that asked him questions. The spirit radiates off of him. O and No big deal but he had to take a call from President Eyring and Elder Cook in the middle of our conference. hahaha he just said that we weren’t as important and he needed to take the call. It was cool to know that President Eyring and Elder Cook were on the other side of the Phone though.

Well that’s about it for now! I’ve learned a lot this week and can’t wait to learn so much more! The Lord continues to put people in my path and I’m so blessed. I know that I have nothing to do with any success that I’m having. As long as I’m obedient and doing my part, the Lord does the rest. It’s his work. Not mine. I love his work and I’m grateful to be a part of it.

“Faith makes this possible, Not easy”

“Brethren, if it is your great desire to cultivate Christlike attributes of “faith, virtue, knowledge, temperance, patience, brotherly kindness, godliness, charity, humility, [and service],”Heavenly Father will make you an instrument in His hands unto the salvation of many souls.”
-Uchtdorf

“Champions know that there is a difference between interest and commitment. When you are interested in something you do it only when circumstances permit. When you are committed to something, you accept no excuses, only results”

-Elder Fischer

P1020115 P1020118 P1020113

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

