2 years doesn’t sounds like full time to me. A full time missionary is forever

20 11 2014

We had another awesome week! It was super busy and that’s the best kind of week. One thing that I’m really thankful for is while I’ve been out here, I’ve learned to love doing hard things. I love the challenge, the trials, the ups and downs, and learning process of a new task. It just makes life much for fun and gives you a sense of accomplishment.

Training has become super fun recently! I love everything about it. I’m trying to slowly allow Elder Gill to take charge of responsibilities. It’s hard because I don’t like seeing him struggle and want to help him through it all but I also know that it’s the best way for him to learn. He is learning super-fast and is an awesome missionary though. We both got called up, on spot, to speak for 10 -12 minutes for sacrament meeting. The last two speakers didn’t show up. This was his first week in the ward – haha. He spoke for about 30 seconds so I got to cover the whole ten minutes. It was fun though and I was able to cover some time.

Right now we are teaching Daniel, Crystal, and Brother Gregor.
Daniel is Crystal’s brother. He is super smart and totally on top of things. He is young but he has a ton of potential. He is learning and progressing fast. Crystal is not as much… we have to reteach a lot to her but it’s the perfect situation for training because it allows Elder Gill and me to get more practice teaching. We are trying to teach her parents soon but they are always working. It’s frustrating because they go on vacation a lot on random weekends so it makes it difficult to get their kids to church. That’s why we need the opportunity to teach the parents too! Keep them in your prayers please!

Brother Gregor is the only person in his family who is not a member but it’s been that way for 25+ years (investigator for eternity=enternigator). We are thinking he is finally ready. His son is coming home from his mission from Iowa soon and wants to be baptized by him!

Today we ran up Mt. Rubidoux. It was sort of a struggle to make it all the way to the top but it was worth it! We had a great time once we made it. We woke up super early so we could see the sunrise and everything. It was pretty chilly so hopefully I won’t get sick from it! I got some pretty fun pictures too:) haha. One of them, you will see is my version of “O Jerusalem O Jerusalem”…except its “O Riverside O Riverside. Thou that killest the prophets.” It’s all good fun. We also were there with one of the companionships investigators so it was a good experience.

So I want to challenge all of you to go up to your missionaries in the ward and ask who they are teaching. Get the names of their investigators and tell them you want to pray for them! I guarantee it will make them so happy and I know that the power of prayer is something that can change the hearts of even the vilest of sinners (Mosiah 27:13-14)(Mosiah 28:4). Think about how powerful and how much better the work could go with the whole ward praying for investigators by names. There is nothing to be scared of either because the missionaries will love you for it.

The mission honestly keeps getting better and better and I couldn’t ask for anything else in my life. I love being a part of the Lord Hastening his work. I know that there is nothing that I can do to hasten his work. He will do it in his own time. But I can do all I can to be a part of it for the rest of my life. Earlier this week, I was talking to a missionary who was going home in 4 weeks and he said that he was pretty much dead (done) because he felt like he was teaching better than he has ever taught his whole mission but nothing is happening. As politely as I could, I suggested that maybe that was his problem. There is nothing that he can personally do to convert someone. That’s the spirits job. He can be obedient, worthy, and qualify himself for the spirit. We are just instruments in the Lords hands! I’m grateful to be able to give a short amount of time in my life to be a full time instrument! Nothing is better.

“2 years doesn’t sounds like full time to me. A full time missionary is forever. Members, you are the full time missionaries.”
-Elder Teh (Stake conference last week)

Elder Fischer

P1020168P1020166P1020164P1020193P1020143P1020138

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

