I would love to be known as Zack, the disciple whom Jesus loved

5 03 2015

First things first. Thank you for not blowing up my email about how UNC lost to Duke this week. I was sincerely concerned that I was going to get on my email today and just be grump they whole time…haha. I’ve had plenty of people inform me already. Not to mention the morning after the game, I was studying a bit in Genesis and came across chapter 36:40-43. The word Duke just continue to pop out at me over and over again…it made for a difficult personal study.. But all is well! Luckily I was on exchanges that day and I was with the Chinese missionaries area so I kind of had the day off. I had no idea what was going on the entire time. Haha

This week Elder Child and I decided to call out the AP’s..Each night we text in our accountability which is…
1. If you asked referrals from everyone you talked to.
2. How many lessons with members present you have for the week.
3. Who you have committed to church for the week…
They also text theirs to us so that we can see their example. But we decided that we were going to beat them this week…They smoke us just about every week but we went suuuuper hard. We ended up getting 16 lessons with members this week and they had 13. So it was a good week. haha the Lord blessed us so much though. It wasn’t anything we did. He saw our efforts and magnified and blessed us. But if calling out the AP’s and going hard is the key to success we are going to call them out for baptisms in march… haha.

As I was reading through the bible and bible dictionary this week I started studying a little bit in John. I think it’s so cool that he refers to himself as the disciple whom Jesus loved. I thought to myself how awesome is that! I thought…Man if I had a record written about my life, I would love to be known as Zack, the disciple whom Jesus loved. I got to thinking about what I might have to do to earn that title and then it hit me! I already am! Jesus LOVES me!

So I don’t have much more time today! But I wanted to invite anyone who is interested or willing to email me names of talks they particularly enjoy or that they may be studying right now. I’m reading a talk by Henry B Eyring entitled “Rise to your Call”. I’d love to hear comments that you have on it or any input if you have time to read it! But if you could do the same for me, it would be much appreciated!

I know that the Lord calls us individually to specific callings that will enable us to learn, grow and BECOME more like him. Some man sitting in an office doesn’t just cover his eyes, drag his finger across a paper, stop on a random name, and then call us. It is INSPIRED of the Lord for a very specific purpose. And “It is by giving our whole hearts to the Master and keeping His commandments that we come to know Him. In time, through the power of the Atonement, our hearts are changed, and we can become like Him”.

I also know that the Lord will guide us through our calling. Because our callings are inspired, we can always rely on the Lord to guide us. It is our responsibility to fulfill our callings. Even the smallest choices and actions that we carry out have ETERNAL consequences… In the life to come, we can either have thousands call our name blessed, or we can have a heavy heart filled with sorrow knowing that we didn’t do all we could have done.

Lastly, I know that the Lord will magnify us in our callings. Because our job is to be the voice and hands of the savior, we will also receive similar opposition that the savior received. Not to the same magnitude. But we will face opposition. How we respond to that opposition will in large part determine who we become during this life. I find comfort as I remember the covenants that I’ve made with the Lord. I know he will bless me with his spirit and allow the words that I say to carry on further than my natural abilities ever could.

Anyway! I’m done for now! Thanks for all yall do and I love you all!

Have a great week!

Elder Fischer

Sorry I forgot to post last weeks letter with snow and all so here here is this weeks letter also.

3-02-2015

Hello everyone! I had another good week! It seems like despite all of the troubles and hard times that we go through, at the end of the week, it’s always a good one. It’s all about how you choose to look at things!
This week I was reading in Moses chapter 7. It really opened up my eyes. As I read verses 23-33 especially. I learned so much as I read through it. One that Satan is extremely powerful and we always have to be on our best defenses up and ready! We can’t take any breaks! Because he isn’t taking breaks. It gave me chills as I read about him having chains around the earth and how it covered the earth with darkness. He then looks up and God and laughs. We can’t allow him to have any power over us! And we have to help those who he may have already led astray. We already know we are on the winning team. So make sure we stay on the winning team and bring as many as we can with us!
The next thing that really stuck out to me was when it talked about how God was weeping. Enoch didn’t understand how God could weep. He was Holy and from eternity to eternity. God then tells him that it is because of the Love that he has for ALL of his creations. Not just for our friends or the ones we are comfortable talking to. Not just our neighbors or co-workers. He loves and wants all of his children back. He loves all of us. I hope and pray that we can try to reach out to those around us and make a difference in their lives. It doesn’t have to be much. But I know that if God sees your effort. If he sees that you are reaching out, he will magnify you and bless you for those efforts. Our actions have eternal consequences!
Lately, Elder Child and I have been working with lots of people. The Lord has been blessing us so much. Our biggest focus right now is Jarom. He is supposed to be baptized this Sunday. I LOVE Jarom! He is the freaking man! haha. He has come a long way. He is trying to quit smoking and coffee right now but he is pretty determined. We taught him a 15 steps program and he called us into the kitchen and crushed all of his cigarettes. He also dumped out all of his coffee! Then when we saw him at church, he talked about how bad of a head ache he had. I felt so bad for him. I wanted to be able to take that pain for him. But I cant. But I know that Jesus Christ did. And he will strengthen Jarom and continue to bless him and help him along the way! Please keep him in your prayers.
Well that’s all I have time for this week! Thanks for all that you guys do! I love you all so much! I hope you all have great weeks!
Stay classy.
Elder Fischer
23 And after that Zion was taken up into heaven, Enoch beheld, and lo, all the nations of the earth were before him;
24 And there came generation upon generation; and Enoch was high and lifted up, even in the bosom of the Father, and of the Son of Man; and behold, the power of Satan was upon all the face of the earth.
25 And he saw angels descending out of heaven; and he heard a loud voice saying: Wo, wo be unto the inhabitants of the earth.
26 And he beheld Satan; and he had a great chain in his hand, and it veiled the whole face of the earth with darkness; and he looked up and laughed, and his angels rejoiced.
27 And Enoch beheld angels descending out of heaven,bearing testimony of the Father and Son; and the Holy Ghost fell on many, and they were caught up by the powers of heaven into Zion.
28 And it came to pass that the God of heaven looked upon the residue of the people, and he wept; and Enoch bore record of it, saying: How is it that the heavens weep,and shed forth their tears as the rain upon the mountains?
29 And Enoch said unto the Lord: How is it that thou canst weep, seeing thou art holy, and from all eternity to all eternity?
30 And were it possible that man could number the particles of the earth, yea, millions of earths like this, it would not be a beginning to the number of thy creations;and thy curtains are stretched out still; and yet thou art there, and thy bosom is there; and also thou art just; thou art merciful and kind forever;
31 And thou hast taken Zion to thine own bosom, from all thy creations, from all eternity to all eternity; and naught but peace, justice, and truth is the habitation of thy throne;and mercy shall go before thy face and have no end; how is it thou canst weep?
32 The Lord said unto Enoch: Behold these thy brethren;they are the workmanship of mine own hands, and I gave unto them their knowledge, in the day I created them; and in the Garden of Eden, gave I unto man his agency;
33 And unto thy brethren have I said, and also given commandment, that they should love one another, and that they should choose me, their Father; but behold, they are without affection, and they hate their own blood;

Pictures:

A little bit of mira loma and life here so far.

And I love Jesus. Like those pictures just make me smile every night.

P1020560 P1020562 P1020588 P1020577 P1020585 P1020586

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

