BOOK OF MORMON! A PERSONAL EXPERINECE THAT LED ME BACK OUT ON MY MISSION

27 03 2015

So Vivian is pretty much one of the cutest little girls in the world!!! I can’t say THE cutest because well…obviously Madi and Kate take the cake on that one.. but it made me so happy to see her get baptized on Sunday. Every time I saw her before she had made the decision to get baptized, I was heartbroken because I knew it was going to bless her life so much. I just wanted her to choose to receive those blessings!

So this week I wanted to talk a little bit about how the Book of Mormon has affected my life. First of all, there is a special spirit and love that I feel every time me I open that book. I know it’s true. Those feelings wouldn’t come if it weren’t. I’m so much happier when I’m constantly reading from the Book of Mormon. And nothing could testify and speak of Christ so much, and be from anyone but God.

The three scriptures I want to focus of are 1 Nephi 11:17, Enos 1:1-3, and Alma 37:6-7. To be more specific about how the Book of Mormon and these scriptures have affected my life. I wanted to share an example. It started out with my dad when he wrote his testimony in my Book of Mormon before I left for my mission to Brazil. I referred to the testimony often but never realized how significant it was until I came home. When I came home, it was a really rough time for me. I tried to put on a face and pretend like I didn’t care, but I did. And I don’t think I ever told anyone how much it affected me during that time. But it bothered me a lot. I had prepared my whole life to serve a mission and then after 3 months, I’m home. It felt absolutely terrible. But one day, as I was reading through my Book of Mormon, I found my dad’s testimony again. In it, he wrote down the scripture, 1 Nephi 11:17, and “that this brings us comfort when we have things happen in our lives that we don’t understand at that time”. I’m so grateful that he was so inspired as he wrote down his SIMPLified testimony in my book. At the time, I’m sure he had no idea how relevant that would be in my future life. But his words and the scripture are so true! Heavenly Father and Jesus Christ love us SO much…beyond our capacity to understand. We don’t have to understand everything in our lives. Not right now. As we diligently apply ourselves and focus on becoming more like the Savior, everything else will fall into place.
Next is the scripture Enos 1:1-3. I love these scriptures for so many reasons. In verse two it talks about the WRESTLE that Enos had before he received a remission of his sins. For me it was a wrestle I had with God in trying to understand what my path was. Where I needed to be and what I needed to be doing. But as it says in verse 3, the words which my father spoke brought me so much comfort. I knew that the Lord had a plan and I didn’t necessarily have to know what it was at the time.

Lastly, is Alma 37:6-7. The past two scriptures aren’t scripture masteries that we study and memorize in seminary. They aren’t ones that you hear quoted all the time. They are small and simple. And my dad didn’t write a huge 5 page testimony in my book. But by those small and simple words, along with the help of amazing friends and family, I was able to continue on the straight and narrow path and return to the mission field. And as I’ve diligently applied myself and been obedient I’ve had the chance to be an instrument in the Lords hands in bringing salvation to some of my best friends out here in California.

And lastly, I couldn’t leave out my Mom! She has constantly been my back bone and support through my life. She never forced me to do anything. But she constantly reassured me of what she knew was best, and what would help me best in my life. However, she always supported me in everything that I did and she did it with love. Her example in testimony and her love for Jesus Christ have helped me immeasurably. I know from looking to her example of trusting in the Lord with ALL of her heart, that my path will always be directed.

Those scriptures have really blessed my life. They have helped me through really difficult times. The power of the Book of Mormon is real. It can be a map for us in our lives if we just choose to pick it up and read it. And apply it to our own lives! It was written for us. The prophets and apostles don’t say it every single General Conference just because it’s the new thing that the kids are saying these days. Or because they like the way it sounds coming out of their mouth. It’s TRUE!

Well that’s about all I have time for today! I appreciate all of you that stay and touch and are there for me! I feel your love and support every week! I hope you all have a great one!

Elder Fischer

P1020740 P1020738

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

