30 pieces of silver – 4-06-15

16 04 2015

ARE YOU KIDDING ME!? I dont know if any of you watched the short bible video right after conference but if you didn’t, I invite you too. It was amazing. After it was over, there was a solid 2 or 3 minutes of silence in a chapel full of 30 missionaries. I believe the video was He is Risen. It was so powerful.

So the subject is connected to an investigator that we were teaching this week. His name was Jimmy.. He was super good and had a real desire to change in the first two meetings that we had with him. Then the third one came…this dude comes out with some paper and some tobacco and starts to roll his cigarettes right in front of us…I said hold up, hold up…What are you doing Jimmy? At this point I realized he was high so there wasn’t much point in being there. But we continued to teach him. I told him he wasn’t allowed to smoke and we were going to talk first. I looked down to read from my scriptures for 2 seconds and when I looked up, he light that sucker up and smoked it. We taught him the rest of the word of wisdom and he said he would start after he finished his can of tobacco..and we said he needed to get rid of it…and that it wasn’t acceptable. This was a large can. He said it was 30 dollars. I asked him “well Jimmy..you said that you wanted to stop smoking for your family and because God has asked you not to so what’s more important 30 dollars, or God and your family?” and he said 30 dollars…I couldn’t help but think of Christ being sold for 30 pieces of silver. I was livid. But I kept it in…anyways. That was a fun time.

On a happier note, conference was pretty awesome! My favorite talk was by Elder Bednar! He is always one of my favorites. I look up to him a lot. Before conference I learned how to take notes from something Elder Bednar taught a group of missionaries that he visited. He told them that they weren’t allowed to write down anything that he said. But they were only allowed to write down things that the spirit said to them. I applied this during conference and I was amazed at how much of a difference it made. I wrote down feelings that came to my heart and thoughts that came to my mind. I can always go back and read the talks and get quotes later. I received lots of personal revelation and I can’t wait to apply it to my life and to my mission! It’s pretty cool what you learn when you listen to what God is telling you. It’s almost like He knows everything or something like that. (lol which He does!)

Too much happened at conference for me to write it all down! It was just so amazing! We are so blessed to have to opportunity to hear from those guys 2 times a year. Other than conference, not much has happened this week!

I hope you all had a great Easter and have a great rest of the week! Love you guys!

Elder Fischer

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

