Happy Mother’s Day Mom!

19 05 2015

I hope you all had a great Mother’s Day! But I hope my mom’s was the best! No offense to anyone else…

I’m so grateful for my mother and all that she does for me! As I reflected on how important my mother is to me and all that she has given me, I realized there was too much for me to even decide on one thing. But that’s a lame answer so I decided that her charity is what makes her so special. We know that charity is the pure love of Christ. And thinking about everything that my mom has done for me and others around her, I see that love in her life. She really puts everyone before herself. She makes sure everyone is happy before she is worried about herself. We always tease her that she is stressing herself out and needs to be more concerned about herself but I’ve come to the realization that the issue isn’t with her. Its starts with me! Instead of teasing her about being too concerned about others well-being, I should try my hardest and pray with all energy of heart to have that same charity. Then I can lighten her burden by helping everyone around me just as she does! She is such an amazing example to me! I love her so much!

This week I was reflecting on the Saviors life and how he showed us such a perfect example of how important our mothers really are. The very first recorded miracle the Jesus Christ ever performed was at the request of his mother Mary when he turned water to wine. Then according to the testimony of John, ensuring the safety and well-being of his mother was the last thing the Savior did before he drank of the bitter cup.

25 ¶Now there stood by the cross of Jesus his mother, and his mother’s sister, Mary the wife of Cleophas, and Mary Magdalene.
26 When Jesus therefore saw his mother, and the disciple standing by, whom he loved, he saith unto his mother,Woman, behold thy son!
27 Then saith he to the disciple, Behold thy mother! And from that hour that disciple took her unto his own home.
28 ¶After this, Jesus knowing that all things were now accomplished, that the scripture might be fulfilled, saith, I thirst.

I’m so grateful for my mother and her example to me! She is a huge part of why I’ve made it as far as I have. I know that mothers hold a divine role. Central to everything that we teach as missionaries is the family. Mothers really heal the souls of men. It’s interesting that Eve was made from the rib of Adam not the foot signifying that she was to be walked on by man – not the skull signifying that she was over Adam – but the rib – to walk alongside of Adam and be his equal. The ribs also protect our vital organs, including the heart. I know that my mom has protected my heart and has always been there for me throughout my entire life! I’m so grateful for her!

I am so happy to be out here in the CRM. Learning more and more about the Savior each day is a blessing and I hope that this Mother’s Day has not only brought us closer to our mothers, but also our Savior. He is the reason it is all possible! I love you all and I hope you all have a good week!

Elder Fischer

P1030015-1P1030016

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

