Baptism of LUCKY COLLINS!

28 05 2015

Whosoever therefore shall humble himself as this little child, the same is greatest in the kingdom of heaven. (Matthew 18:4)

I loooove this verse! Especially after this week. Humbling ourselves as little children is a lifelong pursuit that we should all be working on in our lives. There is so much that we can learn from children. As Mosiah chapter 3 says, we need to become submissive, meek, humble, patient, full of love, and willing to submit to all things! I love lists because it allows me to work on each attribute, one by one, until I get a little better at each individual attribute. And it’s only possible through the atonement. Through the Atonement of Christ, our hearts can be changed.

The reason I brought that up is because Lucky Collins got baptized this past Sunday! It was one of the best baptismal services I’ve ever been too. We have been working with lucky for about 5 weeks now and he is truly an example to us and his family. His parents are trying to return back to activity. His brothers and sisters are not members. But his mom gave the closing prayer at his baptism and it was soooo powerful. A lot of the talks had similar themes to the prayer that she gave. That theme being that Lucky, who was so much younger than all of his other 4 siblings was setting the example for them and for his parents. He was just like Nephi who was chosen to be a leader over his older siblings. I’m grateful for people like Lucky in my life who set an example for me.
When Baptisms happen, they are obviously the highlight of the week. Everything else just seems much less important and exciting. But there was still a lot that happened this week that was exciting! We saw successes, miracles, hard times, frustrations, and everything you can imagine! It’s what makes a mission so much fun. Everything that happens provides an opportunity to grow and a lesson to learn.
One thing that I’ve recently started this week is a challenge from our mission president that is found in Preach My Gospel. I’m starting with a fresh copy of the Book of Mormon and highlighting references to Christ, His spoken words, His attributes, and other doctrines and principals in the Book of Mormon. We are color coding different categories and it’s really helped me to open up my mind to different things in the Book of Mormon. I’ve been learning a lot! Christ has given us so much and I can’t even begin to explain how much I appreciate Him and His perfect life. If you have lots of free time, I would invite you to do the same Book of Mormon challenge! I promise you that you’ll learn a lot and that your testimony of the Savior, and the Book of Mormon will grow!
Well that’s all for this week! I hope you all had a great Memorial Day weekend and everyone was safe! I will keep you in my prayers as always!
Have a Great week!
Love,
Elder Fischer

P1030027

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

