Desires Dictate our Priorities

18 07 2015

“Desires dictate our priorities, priorities shape our choices, and choices determine our actions. The desires we act on determine our changing, our achieving, and our becoming.”
“Therefore, what we insistently desire, over time, is what we will eventually become and what we will receive in eternity.”

“As important as it is to lose every desire for sin, eternal life requires more. To achieve our eternal destiny, we will desire and work for the qualities required to become an eternal being. For example, eternal beings forgive all who have wronged them. They put the welfare of others ahead of themselves. And they love all of God’s children. If this seems too difficult—and surely it is not easy for any of us—then we should begin with a desire for such qualities and call upon our loving Heavenly Father for help with our feelings. ”

Something that we are focusing on in our mission is becoming. So that entails a few different things but the one i am focusing on is becoming a passionate disciple of Jesus Christ. I have a testimony of missionary work. I have a knowledge that i need to be here. I know that i need to be obedient and always be diligent. BUT the question that i often ask myself is…Am I really doing everything that i can do bring souls unto Christ? In other words, I have a testimony but am i fully converted.
As I’ve pondered that question I’ve come to the conclusion that i need to realign my desires. I’m not saying i have unrighteous desires. Many of my desires to sin have left. But I don’t know if I could say that I have achieved qualities required to become an eternal being…and that’s where I hit a rut. I have the desires to achieve those qualities. I have the desires to become a passionate disciple. I have the desire to put others before myself. But there is a difference in having a desire and having a sincere and heartfelt desire. And the difference, I believe is whether or not we are acting on those desires in every situation that we face in life.
None of us are going to be perfect in this life. And we don’t need to be too hard on ourselves. But i do believe it is important that we constantly strive to improve our desires and actions. I’m starting with holding myself accountable to the Lord. No more excuses for my shortcomings. No more blaming others. I know I will fall short at times. But I also know that I have a loving heavenly father who is waiting to lift me up. I know that through the Atonement of Jesus Christ, I can be enabled to become more than i could ever become on my own. My desires can be magnified.
I wish I had more time to talk about this because I do feel that it is important. The Lord is asking a lot of us in this day. He has chosen us to be here at this time for a very specific reason. He needs more righteous, hardworking, faithful disciples. It’s time to rise up to a new sense of living. No more excuses. I know that we are never asked to do more than we can. As we rely of the savior, our burdens will be lightened and our strength increased.
I hope that we can always remember that “Desires dictate our priorities, priorities shape our choices, and choices determine our actions. The desires we act on determine our changing, our achieving, and our becoming.”
I hope you all have a great week! Keep working hard and striving to become more!
Love you all!

ZM9 ZM10 ZM5 ZM6 ZM7

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

