I’m Extending!!! :)

3 12 2015

Well sorta. I just figured that would get everyone’s attention. But due to the extension of time spent in the MTC it looks like I will be here for 1 extra week! So my release date will now be May 10th! Lots of people were complaining about it but I’m down…

This week…where to begin… Well it was filled with some of the best experiences of my mission! I exchanged with a companionship down in San Jacinto, had an amazing Thanksgiving, and saw lots of miracles at church!

We will start with Thanksgiving! We had the Turkey Bowl in the morning. We played for a little over 2 hours. Same ole story with that. No one can guard me…After that our Bishop took us golfing. That was a blast! I haven’t been golfing since I was home. Fortunately for me, I serve in Southern California and golfing at the end of November is a thing around here. After that we went to our bishops house for dinner and had some amazing food! Some of the BEST pumpkin pie that I’ve ever had… From there we went to the stake center for a zone activity and played dodgeball and basketball. So if I could add having my family there with me, it was a pretty ideal Thanksgiving!

On Sunday, I had prayers and fasts answered! We had someone show up to church that we were unable to contact due to a bad address. He loved church and was fellow-shipped greatly by the ward. We also had one of my good friends out here show up to church. She is going through a really hard time right now and doesn’t feel like she is “worthy” to go to church. It has KILLED me seeing this process occur. I’ve seen it happen so many times on my mission and to see it happen to someone that you care about so much is really painful. However, she came to church this week and I don’t know if I’ve ever been so happy to see someone walk in the front doors! It made my day!

Something that is really frustrating to me is the concept that people develop in their minds that they are not worthy to go to church…Church is not for the perfect and most righteous people. Church is for the sick. For those that need help. Church is for everyone! Our mission president gave us a great analogy. He said that smaller fish will often swim in large groups, or schools. They do this as a form of protection. They appear bigger than they actually are to predators around them. However, if these fish were to swim around alone, they are going to be an easy target for their predators. Church is the same thing for us. At times, we may feel guilty as a result of some sin that we’ve committed. But I promise you that you will be a lot safer from the temptations and influences of the adversary as you surround yourself with members of the church, rather than wonder around alone like a lost sheep. SO DONT’ STOP GOING TO CHURCH! or I’ll come find you.

Lastly, I had a great exchange with some missionaries down in San Jacinto. I was with them for 2 days and we were able to find 16 new investigators and feel pretty confident that 3 or 4 of them will be baptized. They were people that were calling and crying out for help, but didn’t know where to go to find it. The first miracle that we recognized was a family of 9 that were mourning the loss of a son. Earlier that day, we felt very impressed to study how the gospel blesses families and relating that into finding new investigators. As the Lord put us in the path of this family, we were able to give them some of the comfort that comes from knowing that we can be with our families forever. The theme continued through out the next two days. So many families that were practically begging for the gospel in their lives.

My favorite and perhaps one of the most spiritual experience I’ve had on my mission came as we ran into Christian, Tory, and Tracey. I wish I had time to give all the details but I don’t.. To summarize everything that happened, we were walking up to their door and Christian came walking out. His first words were “ooo heck nah” and he ran back inside. I just started laughing because it was pretty hilarious… but he came back out and told us he was just kidding. After talking to him for a bit he invited us to come back the next day. As we did so, he confided in us some very personal things that he has gone through and his desires to change. We sat down with him, his girlfriend, and his mom. They were all in tears as we testified to them of the Savior and His love for them. At the end I told them that this was my last day in San Jacinto and Christian, who is a gang member/thug just started crying and came and gave me a hug. The love that I felt for them was so strong. I’ve rarely had love for anyone as fast as I gained a love for them. I just wanted to give them everything. To finish it up, they accepted our invitation to be baptized on December 27th. They have a lot of work to do but I know it’ll change their lives!

I’m so grateful to be a part of this amazing work and to be an instrument in the Lords hands. I’m thankful that Our Heavenly Father sent us a Savior to be born and to save us from our sins. I hope and pray that we can always remember him and all that he has given us this holiday season!

Have a great week!

Elder Fischer

Turkey Day

Turkey Day II

Turkey Day whole crew

Classy

Chillin in the backseat

 

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

