The Prince of Peace! & If you want selective blessings, only keep selective commandments. If you want all of the Lords blessings, keep all of his commandments!

19 01 2016

Lake Elsinore Week 3

Lake Elsinore continues to get better and better! This week we had 11 investigators come to church and 8 of them have baptismal dates! So thats super awesome! The ward does so much work for us. It’s amazing. And the Lord is blessing us so much right now!

We are so busy that the weeks go by too fast! I can hardly even remember everything that happened…This past Saturday President Mullen called and he gave me my official release date. Because I didn’t go to the MTC with the rest of my incoming group of missionaries, my release date was a little off. But he just rounded to the nearest release date. I asked him if I could extend so that I could go home with my incoming group on August 2nd but he said no… I figured it was a stretch. Earlier this year he told me that he can really only give or take 3 weeks so I figured 3 months would be a stretch. I guess may 10th is when I’m suppose to go home so that’s when I’ll go home… I just can’t imagine anything more fulfilling and amazing as this. But life goes on! Luckily I still have a good amount of time left:)

Something that really hit me hard this week was a quote by Tad R. Callister. He said “Sometimes we have missionaries who are so worried about offending people that in the process they never ever save them.” Our time is so valuable out here. It’s so short. We have to be bold in declaring repentance to everyone. We can’t be afraid of what they will think or say. We can’t be afraid that they wont like us anymore. Fear is not an attribute of a disciple of Jesus Christ. Not that kind of fear.. We have to be bold in preaching the gospel of Jesus Christ. If someone doesn’t hear the gospel because of something I fail to do or say, I don’t think being concerned about offending them is a very acceptable excuse. We have to talk with everyone. And we have to invite everyone!

Anyway… During church this week, I was pondering a lot about peace. As we teach people, we often promise them blessings of peace, happiness, and joy in their lives. So many people say they want peace in their lives. So I was thinking…What does that actually mean. I believe there are two different kinds of peace. One kind of peace is a worldly peace. You are content and well off financially. You can provide food to put on the table for your family. You have shelter to live under. You pretty much have everything you need and then some to spare. This is what most of the world seeks after. Enough money and temporal well-being to not have to work anymore. However, the peace that the Savior promises in John 14:27 is a much more powerful and special peace.

27 Peace I leave with you, my peace I give unto you: not as the world giveth, give I unto you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.

The kind of peace we should seek after. This peace comes from knowing that our Heavenly Father loves us. He knows and understands our situations. He has a plan for us. And whether we like how it is going or not, Heavenly Fathers plan is always working for us. We know that Jesus Christ is our Savior and He is the Light of the World. The smallest light will overcome a completely dark room. And the Light of the Savior will overcome the darkest and hardest times in our lives. The peace that He offers and that we should seek is a peace that exists regardless of circumstance. The worst of times and the best of times can be a blessing as we make Jesus Christ the foundation of our faith.

So that’s what I learned in church as I was pondering… And it’s true! I checked!

Well I’m gonna FIRE this off real quick! Love you all! Have a great week!

Elder Fischer

Lake Elsinore Week 2

And the second week was just as amazing as the first! The Lord just continues to bless us so much. The Ward here is incredible. They are missionary minded and have been very sincere and diligent about helping to find us people to teach. We have 6 investigators at church this week and I was amazed at the job that the ward did taking care of them. I hardly had to do anything.

The only bad part about this place so far is that there are not enough elders to play basketball:( So I’m recruiting from the ward and looking to find investigators that will play with us… haha this is the first area that ive had where basketball isnt THE thing to do on P-day.

Something that I’ve really come to appreciate this week is organization. Gods house is a house of order. His church is set up and organized in a very specific way. And everything that he asks us to do, whether it be from prophets of old, modern day prophets, or directly from him to us as personal revelation, it is the same. There is a reason for his instruction and we MUST obey. The reason that I am specifically grateful for that this week is because I’ve felt the pain as a result of missionaries who didnt keep records and were not organized…This week we had to spend a lot of time updating records, getting organized, and making plans for the upcoming weeks. BUT, as we did so, the Lord blessed us so much with the limited proselyting time that we had. I believe that keeping things organized and up to date shows the Lord that you care about the people in the area. You care about them and love them even after you leave the area. It shows him that he can trust you with his children.

This week we also had Elder Hamula come to visit our mission! It was an incredible experience. His conference was in preparation for the broadcast coming up on the 20th. He taught us the why, the what, and the how of missionary.

The why is because Heavenly Father wants ALL of his children back. He doesn’t just want the ones who are born into the church. He doesn’t only want the ones who are christian. He doesnt want 99% of them back. Heavenly Father wants EVERY single one of his children to return to him one day. And because of the Atonement of Jesus Christ, every single one of them will one day return to him. However, not all of them will remain with him. No unclean thing can dwell in the presence of God. So, those who do not exercise faith unto repentance and follow Jesus Christ by being baptized, will not be able to remain with him. As missionaries, our Heavenly Father trusts us with a portion of his vineyard. I was looking at how BIG of a portion he is trusting me with. He trusts me to go out and serve every single person I can in the time that I am given and to do so with all of my heart, might, mind, and strength. So I must take advantage to teach repentance everywhere, every time, and too everyone. No exceptions. There is not one single person that I pass on the street that the Lord does not want to return to him one day, and most importantly, remain with him. So that is why we need missionary work. Because Heavenly Father loves and wants all of his children to return to him one day.

The what of mission work is what we teach in order to achieve the why. We teach people that they need to have faith unto repentance and exercise that faith by being baptized by someone who has proper priesthood authority.

The how of missionary work is by inviting. We need to first teach the doctrine, then boldly invite others to repent and be baptized. We do that by helping people make and keep commitments. This also prepares them for covenants that they will make later on in their lives.

I felt sooo inspried and spiritually feed following the conference. I was pumped and ready to go out and teach everyone within the sound of my voice! I feel so blessed and honored to be teaching the same doctrine the Christ taught when he was on the earth. Doing the same thing that he did. There is no greater work!

Thanks for your love and prayers! Hope you all have great weeks!

Love,

Elder Fischer

1.Beautiful Lake Elsinore!

Beautiful Lake Elsinore

2. They cant stop me!

They Can't Stop Me

3. Our P-day Hike

P-day Hike

4. Our P-day Hike 2

P-Day Hike 2

5. Ortega Mountains

Ortega Mountains

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

