THE BETANCOURTS

3 02 2016

This week was amazing! Then again I feel like I say that every week. I guess the mission is just amazing. It’s hard work. But it’s fulfilling and it’s the best work! Really though. It’s like a really hard working vacation. We have the happiest and most life changing message and all we have to do is work hard and share it with everyone! We don’t have to worry about grades, school, work. We only have to worry about souls…only.. haha but it’s the best!

So this week was so great because we got to see the Betancourts get baptized. Well two of them have been baptized within the last two months. But three of them just got baptized this past week! Mikey, Samantha, and Helena! They are so amazing! I love that family so much. There are 10 children in the family. So we have lots more work to do there! The parents are not members either. I’ve had SO much fun meeting with them. Seeing them grow and come unto Christ has been so rewarding and I’ve been blessed to be a part of that process.

I’ve really been learning how important desire is lately. The Betancourt family have been some of the most amazing people I’ve worked with on my mission. I just love them so much. It honestly kinda bothers me how much I care about them. Because I think about how much it would hurt me if they ever fell away from the gospel and back into old ways. During their prayers they will often say things such as “I desire….” and ask for blessings. I thought that to be peculiar and then as I was reading through the Book of Mormon in Alma the word desire really started to stick out to me. I’ve shared this before but I love it so I’ll share it again.

“Desires dictate our priorities, priorities shape our choices, and choices determine our actions. The desires we act on determine our changing, our achieving, and our becoming.”

This is what its all about. What we become. We will be judged on our actions and the desires of our hearts. And it’s so amazing to hear someone plead with the Lord for the things that they desire. Especially at such a young and humble age as the Betancourts.

Alma 22 is another great example of desires.

16 But Aaron said unto him: If thou desirest this thing, if thou wilt bow down before God, yea, if thou wilt repent of all thy sins, and will bow down before God, and call on his name in faith, believing that ye shall receive, then shalt thou receive the hope which thou desirest.

17 And it came to pass that when Aaron had said these words, the king did bow down before the Lord, upon his knees; yea, even he did prostrate himself upon the earth, and cried mightily, saying:

18 O God, Aaron hath told me that there is a God; and if there is a God, and if thou art God, wilt thou make thyself known unto me, and I will give away all my sins to know thee, and that I may be raised from the dead, and be saved at the last day. And now when the king had said these words, he was struck as if he were dead.

Many of you already know that following this many are converted unto the Lord. Desire is so important! The Lord doesnt require perfect faith. He will start with the smallest desires of our hearts..

I love finding little patterns in the scriptures. Its like a puzzle to me. The scriptures are truly a blessing to us in our lives. They are compasses to direct our lives and give us all of the answers that we need. They will help us achieve our desires!

Well that’s all I have time for today! I feel like this was all a bit scattered but I was kinda in a rush! Thanks for always being so amazing! All of you.

OH! And in case any of you were wondering, this is Jesus Christ’s church! It’s been restored to the earth in its fullness and President Thomas S. Monson is a prophet of God. The Book of Mormon is true. And Jesus Christ is the Messiah! God lives and loves us all a lot..

THANKS!

With Love,

Elder Fischer

1. Me and Mikey taking selfies in the bathroom…

Me and Mikey

2. Mikey, Samantha, and Helena! They are the best:)

Mikey, Samantha & Helena

3. Part of the rest of their family!

Betancourts
4. Sad I had to miss Sergio’s baptism…:( But I’m so happy for him! I wish I could have gone back but the times of our baptisms didn’t line up! But he has made an incredible journey!

Sergio's Baptism

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

